

Annual General Meeting June 25, 2025

Northeast Alberta Information HUB Annual General Meeting Minutes June 25, 2025 Lakeland College, Vermilion, Alberta

Attending: **Gerald Aalbers/Lloydminster** Phil Kushmir/Bonnyville **Rob Pulyk/Vermilion** Tim MacPhee/Vegreville Alice Wainwright Stewart/Lakeland College Bill Parker/Cold Lake Jocelyne Lanovaz/Mannville Michael Tarkowski/Two Hills Dan Juhlin/Aerium Analytics Donna Rudolf/Myrnam Merwin Haight/Andrew **Rod Olsen/Redwater** Jason Boorse/Elk Point Leslie Cusack/County Vermilion River Edie Yuill/Athabasca Joey Nafziger/Minburn County Evelynne Kobes/Smoky Lake Warren Griffin/Boyle Jennifer Kirkpatrick/Athabasca County Marcie Mazurenko/Buffalo Lake MS Sebastian Dutrisac/County Two Hills **Trudy Smith/Chipman** Phyllis Forsyth/Bruderheim Bob Bezpalko/Alberta HUB Barb McCarthy/JMD Group LLB Lisa Ford/JET

Daniel Warawa/Lamont County Amy Cherniwchan/Smoky Lake Scott Kovatch/MD Bonnyville Jordan Cicoria/Aerium Analytics

Loni Leslie/Vilna **Evan Raycroft/Innisfree** Linda Sallstrom/County St. Paul Sonny Rajoo/Two Hills Archie Handel/Buffalo Lake Metis Settlement Stan Delorme/Buffalo Lake Metis Settlement Elaine Sorochan/Two Hills Don Slipchuk/M.D. Bonnyville Jody Foulds/Lamont Bob Ross/Two Hills Jamieson Brown/Vegreville Treena Lane/Redwater Parrish Tung/Elk Point Karl Hauch/Bruderheim Wayne Fiddler/Frog lake First Nations Wendy Wagner/County Vermilion River Hannah Musterer/County Vermilion River Camille Wallach/Athabasca County Todd Sumner/Lakeland College Kayla Ford/Alberta HUB Karyann Boychuk/JETI

Proxy votes: St. Paul County, Town of St. Paul, EMW Regrets: Harold Bylan/Buffalo Lake Metis Settlement, Cliffton Cross/Frog Lake First Nations, Lindsay Haag/EMW, Lorne Halisky/County Smoky Lake Special Guests: MLA Garth Rowswell, MLA Scott Cyr

Welcome and Call to Order

Chair Gerald Aalbers called the Meeting to order at 6:00pm. Gerald thanked everyone for attending and invited: Alice Wainwright Stewart, President Lakeland College to offer Welcoming remarks MLA Garth Rowswell to bring welcome remarks from the Government of Alberta. Gerald Aalbers Introduced Angus Watt as the keynote speaker. Gerald thanked Angus for a great presentation. In lieu of Angus's speaker fee a \$1500 donation will be made by Alberta HUB to Little Warriors.

1.	Adoption of Alberta HUB June 26, 2024, AGM Agenda Moved by Alice Wainwright Stewart/Lakeland College to adopt the agenda.	Carried
2.	Adoption of the June 26,2024 Annual General Meeting Minutes Moved by Tim MacPhee to adopt the minutes of June 26, 2024, Annual General Meeting	Carried
3.	Annual Chair's Message Chair Gerald Aalbers - Included in Meeting package	
4.	<u>2024-25 Financial Report</u> Barb McCarthy from JMD LLP Group presented the audited Financial Statements for the year ending March 31, 2024. Jocelyne Lanovaz moved to accept the financial report as presented.	Carried
5.	Appointing Financial Auditor for Operating year 2025-26 Gerald asked for a motion to retain JMD Group LLP as financial auditors for the Northeast Alberta Information HUB for the 2023-24 operating year. Karl Hauch moved to retain JMD LLP as financial auditors for the Northeast Alberta Information HUB.	Carried
6.	Annual membership fees Chair Gerald Aalbers Gerald asked for a motion to approve an increase of the annual membership fees beginning the operating year of April 1, 2026, to \$1.00/capita for municipalities, First Nations and Metis Settle \$2000/year for Post-secondary Education Institutions, \$3500/year for Business and \$6500 for in Jason Boorse moved to approve the annual membership fee increases as presented.	ments,
7.	<u>Executive Director's Report - Bob Bezpalko</u> Gerald introduced and welcomed Bob who gave his report.	
8.	<u>Election of Board of Directors</u> Gerald asked Bob Bezpalko to conduct the election for the board of directors.	
	Bob began by stating that municipalities defined as a city receive a board seat. <u>Cities</u> Lloydminster - Mayor Gerald Aalbers Cold Lake – Councilor Bill Parker	
	Villages	

Mannville – Jocelyne Lanovaz Moved by Tim MacPhee for nominations to cease

Carried

Towns under 3000Two Hills – Mike TartkowskiMoved by Gerald Aalbers for nominations cease.Carried			
Towns over 3000 (2 representatives)			
Vegreville – Mayor Tim MacPhee Vermilion – Rob Pulyk			
Moved by Daniel Warawa for nominations to cease.	Carried		
Metis Settlements			
Buffalo Lake Metis Settlement – Councilor Harold Blyan			
Moved by Mike Tarkowski for nominations to cease.	Carried		
First Nations			
Frog Lake First Nations – Councilor Cliffton Cross			
Moved by Jocelyne Lanovaz for nominations to cease.	Carried		
<u>Counties/MDs (3 representatives)</u> Athabasca County – Councillor Camille Wallach Minburn County – Councillor Joey Natziger Two Hills County – Councillor Sabastian Dutrisac			
Moved by Tim MacPhee for nominations to cease.	Carried		
A vote took place for the 3 county board representatives. Nominees, Athabasca County, Minburn County, St. Paul County, Two Hills County Chair Aalbers moved to destroy the ballets once the votes were counted. Carried			
Colleges/Universities			
Lakeland College – President Alice Stewart Wainwright			
Moved by Phil Kushmir for nominations to cease.	Carried		
Business and Industry			
EMW – President Lindsay Haag	Conviod		
Moved by Rod Olsen that nominations cease.	Carried		
Bob welcomed the new board members.			
<u>Closing remarks & Adjournment</u> Gerald thanked Christopher for a great presentation. Gerald also thanked board members for their support and dedication in promoting regional Collaboration. Gerald called for a motion to adjourn; Mike Tarkowski moved that the Alberta HUB 2024 AGM be adjourned.			

Carried (7:30 pm)

Gerald Aalbers
Chair

9.0

Jocelyne Lanovaz Sec/Treasurer